All The Gallant Men

IMG_00432016 marked the 75th Anniversary of the Attack on Pearl Harbor. To commemorate this event, several new documentaries such as Remember Pearl Harbor created by the World War II Foundation and narrated by actor Tom Selleck and Into the Arizona as well as new books on the attack. One such book was All the Gallant Men by Donald Stratton (which is pictured on the left).

Ever since I learned of this book’s publication last December, I have been eager to read it for two reasons. The first was I have always had a fascination with the attack on Pearl Harbor.  The second Donald Stratton’s book is the only memoir written by a survivor of the USS Arizona. No other survivor has written a book about their experience during that terrible day in American history–a date which will live in infamy.

Due to school and not having enough time either during school or on break, I was unable to read it…until eight days ago.

The book was amazing! It was well written. During the chapters dedicated to the attack and afterwards, I felt as if I was there watching the horrific events of that day unfold. The images formed in my mind were so vividly painted there were times where I had to put the book down. It was a very emotional yet worthwhile experience. I highly recommend this book.  This book not only supplements the resources already written on the attack but it also brings a new perspective to the table. A perspective only someone who was there could have.

Though it has been eight days since I read the last page of the epilogue of Donald Stratton’s book, I still remember it. I have never read a book that has impacted my life in such a profound way.

This is my check
This is a photo of who checked out the book. July 1st is the day I checked it out. It is sad to see that only three people (including myself) have checked out this book.
IMG_0085
To document reading this book, I decided to take a book selfie.

There are SO many wonderful quotes from Donald’s book. One of my favorites comes from his granddaughter Nikki. Here is a photo of it.

Nikki Stratton Quote
Quote from All the Gallant Men by Donald Stratton. Photo of quote taken by GEhistorian.

 

One thought on “All The Gallant Men

Leave a Reply

